Club News

Join the club

The FA Groundsman of the Year Awards 2013

2 years ago, By JIM DAVIS

The FA Groundsman of the Year Awards took place at the National Football Centre at St. George’s Park today, 7th August, where all of the finalists were treated to a tour of the facilities and a presentation by St. George’s Park Head Groundsman Alan Ferguson prior to the awards presentation.

This marks the 12th year that the awards have recognised the unsung heroes of the grassroots game through seven national categories.


I am happy to report that Daventry Town Groundsman and Team Manager Darran Foster, alongside Father John Foster, won a splendid trophy for coming third in the Southern League Award and won a Certificate for Highly Commended at level Steps 3 + 4.

Congratulations go to both Darran and John for winning these prestigious Awards.

2013 Finalists List

Southern League Award


Darran Foster, Daventry Town - THIRD
Idris Noel Elms, Levington
Robert Filer, Paulton Rovers
Mark Webb, Shortwood United

National Award Steps 3 & 4

Brian Quinnell, Bognor Regis Town
Darran Foster, Daventry Town – Highly Commended
Martin Burr, Mertham FC
James Talbot, Nantwich Town
Robert Filer, Paulton Rovers
Mark Webb, Shortwood United

For more information pre - awards presentation click HERE


Where next?

Kyle Cartwright Player of the Season Kyle Cartwright has left Daventry Town for Hinckley United.
Deqwon Ebanks joins Daventry Town. Ex-Birmingham City striker Deqwon Ebanks has signed for Daventry Town on a three month loan contract from Tamworth Town.


Loading comments
Mon 31 Aug
1st Team Carlton Town
League 15:00
Sat 5 Sep
Daventry Town u21s Stamford AFC U21
League 12:00
League 15:00
Sun 6 Sep
Daventry Town Ladies FC Billing United Ladies
League 14:00
Wed 9 Sep
League 19:45
Sat 12 Sep
Daventry Town u21s Histon U21
League 11:00

News sponsor


Club sponsor